Monday, January 2, 2017

2015/2016 Finalists Announced

In December 2016, two books emerged from the Dungeons of Democracy:

N.K. Jemisin, The Fifth Season
Naomi Novik, Uprooted

Congratulations to both finalists! The winner will be announced later this year. Voters who included their email addresses should by now have all received their personalized chronicles. If you think yours has gone astray, go ahead and query.

For those who missed the voting window, or didn't leave an email address, and are curious about the output, Martin McGrath has generously shared his chronicle for y'all to peek at.

You can read more about the award, about the counting process, check out the FAQ, see some titles recommended by other voters, donate to the prize, or say hi to Jo on Twitter.

Honorable mentions to Berit Ellingsen's Not Dark Yet (third place by total remaining HP), Becky Chambers's Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (third place by surviving votes), and Emma Newman's Planetfall (third place by average remaining HP with negatives discounted multiplied by surviving votes).

Many thanks to our specially invited monster-mongers, Nina Allan, Hal Duncan, Tom Pollock, Jonah Sutton-Morse, China MiĆ©ville, and Bruce Sterling, and to the voters who also contributed Wandering Monster Ballots.